Untitled Page
DWA Home Page  
Untitled Page

Study Area

The study extends from the Thukela River mouth on the KZN North Coast to the uMkhomazi River on the South Coast and from Howick in the west to Durban in the east. It includes the eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality, Msunduzi Local Municipality, as well as the uMgungundlovu, uMzinyathi, iLembe, Harry Gwala and Ugu District Municipalities (DMs) (see Figure 1).

The central and southern portion of the Study Area is largely supplied with water from the Mgeni Water Supply System (WSS), including Midmar, Albert Falls, Nagle and Inanda dams on the uMngeni River, and supplemented with transfers from the Mooi-Mgeni Transfer Scheme (MMTS), including Mearns Weir (Phase 1) and the recently completed Spring Grove Dam (Phase 2). To the north the area is supplied from the integrated Mdloti- Mvoti WSS which incorporates Hazelmere Dam.

Some of the infrastructure development options, currently being constructed for augmenting water supply to the area include the Lower Thukela Bulk Water Supply Scheme (LTBWSS), the raising of Hazelmere Dam, also currently under construction.


Untitled Document
This site is best viewed with Internet Explorer 10 (or newer) and Mozilla Firefox 32.0 (or newer) at 1024x768 screen resolution.Click here to download Internet Explorer 11 or click here to download Firefox 32.
DWS Sitemap
If you experience any challenges regarding this site, please contact the Webmaster.